The Beresford History

Beresford History

Built on the rubble of San Francisco’s 1906 earthquake, Hotel Beresford is long-standing Union Square landmark. Literally. After a major seismic retrofitting for earthquake resistance, it will likely never be taken down. Meanwhile, its sister hotel, The Beresford Arms, presents a stunning example of turn-of-the-century urban architecture just one block over. Both hotels aim to uphold their histories in Union Square. While the plumbing, electricity and linens are new, the lobbies and rooms maintain a distinctive, antique charm.

The Lange Family

Today’s Beresford brand began with a question: “How hard could it be?”

The many people who knew C. Daniel Lange—who purchased Hotel Beresford in 1956—knew of his famously confident approach to life and its many adventures. Building a hotel brand from scratch, though, was an ambitious project, even for him.

Going from trial lawyer to hotelier had its challenges, but C. Dan’s sons, Andy and Chris Lange, watched their father’s business thrive. Starting as bellhops and linen launderers at Hotel Beresford in the 1960s, the Lange brothers continue the family story as current proprietors of both Hotel Beresford and The Beresford Arms. Luminary guests over the years range from actors and opera singers to presidential families.

One of only a few family-owned and operated hotel brands in Union Square, the Beresford hotels both feature the mark of the Lange family. from the wines crafted at the Lange family winery and served at the Arms’ social hour to the hand-selected Angus steaks at Hotel Beresford’s White Horse Tavern. (Did we mention that the Lange family are also cattle ranchers?).

Most importantly, the family brand features in Beresford’s hospitality. Guests have always been like family themselves…and always will be.